The Philippines! Palawan, PART 3: No People, No Hotels, No Food, Noooo Problem

rocky road pwn 11.21.11

The road changed from concrete, blinding white under the sun, to brown dirt, to gravel, to red earth flanked by dense forest. I needed to reach the western coast and still have enough daylight to enjoy the beach and watch the sun bid farewell to this side of the world.

After riding for hours and not seeing a soul except for the occasional rider or pedestrian giving me a curious look, it was delightful to finally see some houses and people. The road was paved again and I stopped by the first Sari sari store I’ve seen  for hours. Over its sparsely stocked wooden shelves were a few canned food and cheap liquor. A clear plastic bag of junk food and biscuits were hanging from the ceiling to tempt kids to part with their precious coins. There were a few sad-looking bananas wilting in the heat on the counter. Gasoline in big Coca cola bottles were prominently displayed on a rickety shelf propped by the side of the road in front.

There were two kids barely in their teens sitting on the bench sharing Tanduay Rhum from a glass. I asked, Where can I find a place to stay around here? They told me to ride further down the road till I hit the beach and I’ll find a resort there offering cottages.

I did find the place they were referring to, but the guy who I found there told me it did used to be open to guests but was now private property. Indeed, the sign by the side of the road had seen better days. The place seemed too remote for tourists to venture to over long stretches of dirt road. He said he was the caretaker of the property and the owners were not around.

May I spend the night here?

I’m sorry sir, we don’t accept guests anymore and the owners and the whole clan will be arriving tomorrow to spend Good Friday here.

My shoulders dropped. I could hear the churning waters and smell the briny sea from where we were and I was irresistibly drawn to it. What’s the nearest alternative that you can recommend? My body felt like it was still vibrating from riding over gravel and dirt. I had to get enough rest to prepare myself for fasting the next day. Sir I think there are places you can check at Apurawan, around 30 kilometers from here. I thought to myself, 30 kilometers of riding to a place he ‘thinks’ there is a place I can spend the night? I said, there’s no longer enough daylight to ride that far. Please let me spend the night here and I’ll leave before the owners arrive.

I’m sorry sir, I can’t do that.

I just need the security of your gates. I’ll sleep on the dirt.

Sir, we don’t have any food to offer you here.

Exellent. “I won’t need any”.

Let me show you to your room, Sir.

I let out the biggest smile I’ve worn in a while.

I quickly changed into fresh clothes while he cleared my room of stacked tables, chairs, and various knick knacks. He was sweeping the floor when I left to do my usual pre-dusk walk along the beach.

And so I walked.

.
.
.

I see trees of green...

I see trees of green…  Do you?

.
.
.

Worm Art

Worm Art

.
.
.

fallen tree 11.21.11
.
.
.

rock pwn 11.21.11

When shadows are longer than the casters are tall, It’s time for a walk

.

DSCF3070
.
.

.

moss pwn 11.21.11
.
.
.
moon pwn 11.21.11

.
.
.

sunset pwn 11.21.11

Feels and smells better than it looks

.

.

shore pwn 11.21.11

.
.
.

Gone swimming

Gone swimming

To be continued

3 thoughts on “The Philippines! Palawan, PART 3: No People, No Hotels, No Food, Noooo Problem

  1. haha , I love the title of this post so well,Jojit S Las ^ – ^

    “Let me show you to your room, Sir.” – magical words huh 🙂

    Anyway, the beach is truly beautiful ^ – ^ having a house there would be so nice – no restaurants – no cinema – no shopping malls – noooooo problem eh ^ ^

Leave a Reply

